What are the Different ANSI Grades of Locks in Greenacres, FL? Grade 1, 2 & 3 Security Certification

Keeping their commercial building or home secure is a major concern to most people. When people look to protect the contents and occupants of a business or house in addition to other methods, locks and bolts are usually involved. Much like many products available to the general public, there is a grading system involved with locks. Instead of upgrading it to a more involved and equipped one, you can get the ultimate product that comes with the vital features that boost security or make do with a generic and standard item. When considering the deadbolts to your castle or the master locks to your livelihood, it is important to know how the grading system works. The three grades used in the grading system on locks and deadbolts is what we at Ninja Locksmiths would like to discuss today.

What are ANSI Grade Locks?

The ANSI is the organization that grade the locks and deadbolts. Being a private, nonprofit group, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) administer voluntary performance standards for many products for builder’s hardware, including locks and deadbolts. Through a series of tests and operations, ANSI grades the durability, performance, and quality of locksets. There are 3 grades of certification ANSI assigns upon a product based on the tests performed, which generally ranging from good, to better, to best. Grade 1 Certification, Grade 2 Certification, and Grade 3 Certification are the grades included.

What is an ANSI Grade 1 Lock?

The strongest grade ANSI recognizes, the best grade equates it to highest grade security, which is ideal for commercial and residential use. A minimum of 800,000 cycles, 6 door strikes and 360-pound weight test to earn this rank is tolerated by the doorknob. With a hammer, the deadbolt is cycled a minimum of 250,000 times and weathers 10 door strikes.

ANSI Grade 2 Certification

This better grade or a higher grade is designed for residential security to deliver excellent security and durability. This is applied to light commercial application and home needs. These knobs are not nearly as durable as the best grade but is cycled a minimum of 400,000 times, and 4 door strikes withstanding a 250-pound weight test. With a hammer, the deadbolts withstand 150,000 cycles and 5 door strikes. The deadbolts resist 150,000 cycles and 5 door strikes with a hammer.

What does ANSI Grade 3 Security Mean?

The good grade or the lowest grade ANSI provides is Grade 3 Certification is acceptable for basic residential security. This has the minimal requirements for residential door locks. This grade should be avoided as it is recommended on secondary entry points where primary doors are used. Testing of 200,000 cycles, 2 door strikes, and 150-pound weight is endured by the doorknobs. The deadbolts endure 2 door strikes and 100,000 cycles with a hammer.

Installation, Replacement & Repair of Deadbolts, Locksets & Lock Hardware & More in Wellington, Boynton Beach, Delray Beach, Boca Raton, Jupiter, Lake Worth & West Palm Beach County, Florida

Having this basic understanding of the grading system provided by the ANS, you can make better decisions on the quality of deadbolts and doorknobs. No matter if you are trying to better secure your commercial business, or your residential home in Palm Beach County, Florida, ensuring you have dependable locking system to secure your home or business. With top-quality results, call Ninja Locksmiths and let us install the locks and deadbolts on your premises.

Call Now ButtonCall Now